Book Review: Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Background on Emily Brontë and Wuthering Heights

Wuthering Heights is written by the English novelist and poet Emily Brontë who was born in Thornton, West Yorkshire, England in 1818. Emily Brontë is the sister of Charlotte Brontë, the novelist and poet who wrote books such as Jane Eyre. Wuthering Heights is the only novel ever written by Emily Brontë, she wrote Wuthering Heights between October 1845 and June 1846, it was later published in 1847, under the name of Ellis Bell, Emily died a year later due to illness. This novel was later edited by her sister Charlotte with minor alterations and a second edition was then released in 1850.

When Wuthering Heights was initially released it received mixed reviews with critics considering it controversial due to the topics discussed in the novel as it challenged the ideals in society at that time, although it is now said to be a classic of English literature.

Brief Plot Description

Wuthering Heights is set in the 1800's in two houses; one called Wuthering Heights the other Thrushcross Grange. There are two main narrators Mr.Lockwood and Nelly. It begins with Mr.Lockwood who rented Thrushcross Grange, he decided to visit Wuthering Heights owned by Mr.Heathcliff. Upon arriving at Wuthering Heights a storm occurred outside leading to Mr.Lockwood falling ill. His house keeper Nelly then begins to tell him the story of these two houses and the families which once occupied them. 

Wuthering Heights was once occupied by the Earnshaws, Mr.Earnshaw, Hindley and Catherine. On a trip to Liverpool Mr.Earnshaw took home an orphan, Heathcliff. Catherine and Heathcliff quickly became close friends while Hindley and Heathcliff did not see eye to eye. A few years later, Hindley was sent to college but soon returns after the death of Mr. Earnshaw to become master of Wuthering Heights with his wife and son Hareton, declaring Heathcliff as his servant. Several months later while out Heathcliff and Catherine stumble upon Thrushcross Grange where they spy on the family inside, a must different home from what they were used to. Thrushcross Grange was occupied by the Linton family, Mr and Mrs.Linton, Edgar and Isabella.

A year later Edgar and Catherine grow closer, as she grows apart from Heathcliff. Soon after, Edgar and Catherine marry and reside in Thrushcross Grange and Heathcliff leaves. A few months pass and Heathcliff returns, as Hindley's life spirals downward, Heathcliff takes over Wuthering Heights, soon after Isabella and Heathcliff fall in love. Catherine falls ill and soon after has a child Cathy. Isabella then leaves and has a child Linton. 

From here a few years and months pass, and the feud between households continue, but this does not stop the relationships formed by the children. After a few years pass, Lockwood returns and Nelly continues the story to that present day.


Although, when first read this book is confusing due to the time gaps and jumping from one year back to a different year in a matter of sentences, it is a very interesting book to read and I would highly recommend reading it.

No comments:

Post a Comment